Customer Reviews for Bionaire 22499 Steam Mop

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Macy's.

Bionaire 22499 Steam Mop

You'll wonder how you ever cleaned without it! Grab the Bionaire steam mop and wipe your floors spotless with nothing more than a few ounces of regular tap water -- no harmful chemicals or detergents required. One-year limited warranty. Model 22499.
Average Customer Rating:
2.796 out of 5
2.8
 out of 
5
(44 Reviews) 44
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (44 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
10
3 stars
4
2 stars
5
1 star
16
21 of 44(48%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Bionaire 22499 Steam Mop
Review 1 for Bionaire 22499 Steam Mop
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Customer Avatar
from Pennsylvania
How often do you shop at macys.com? Occasionally
Are you a Macy's Credit Card holder? No
What is your age? 40-49
What is your gender? Female

Great Product!!

January 30, 2010
" I absolutely love my Bionaire steam mop! I bought mine at Christmastime at Macy's for a great price and I don't know how I ever got along without it. I have been wanting a steam mop for quite some time, but until recenty never bought one. I am so glad I did. It is well designed and I was really impressed when I took it out of the box. It is very sturdy and easy to maneuver. I have ceramic and parquet wood floors mainly, but also carpeted floors as well. It works like a dream with little effort. It does a fantastic job and it makes me feel better that not only are my floors clean but they are sanitized as well! I highly recommend this product. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Bionaire 22499 Steam Mop
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Customer Avatar
from Gilbert, AZ
What is your age? 30-39
What is your gender? Female
How often do you shop at macys.com? Occasionally

Horrible product! Don't buy

July 24, 2010
" I've owned mine for 4 months...it worked great for the first few weeks. However, first the internal part of the handle broke due to cheap plastic! So I hot glued it back in place. Than It stopped steaming even though I used bottled water and emptied it..so I used vinegar to get it to start steaming...Now the handle is outright broken beyond repair and it wont steam but occasionally! This product is not worth the money...I now after 4 months need to buy another product. I love having a steam mop but NOT THIS ONE. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Bionaire 22499 Steam Mop
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Customer Avatar
from Spring, TX
How often do you shop at macys.com? Frequently
Are you a Macy's Credit Card holder? Yes
What is your age? 25-29
What is your gender? Female

Do not buy!

May 13, 2010
" I bought my first one during the after Christmas sale. I used it two times and it stoped working. I exchanged it for another and used it one time and it stoped working. Do not buy this!! I'm going today to get a different brand! "
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Bionaire 22499 Steam Mop
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Customer Avatar
from NYC
How often do you shop at macys.com? Occasionally
Are you a Macy's Credit Card holder? Yes
What is your age? 30-39
What is your gender? Female

ok product for the price

December 31, 2009
" this mop works pretty well- my hardwood floors are much cleaner than with a mop and murphys oil soap- thats for sure- its just a little hard to push across the floor- it does not glide easily- so you end up getting a bit of a workout- if you are into that- easier than going to the gym! it did get some long-standing stains off the hardwood floors without damaging the surface and the steam works well. the microfiber cover pulls against the appliance which is why it kind of drags a little. i like the fact that you can clean your floors without any chemicals-just water since i have a dog - so its safe for her. overall it was an ok purchase for the price. "
Review 5 for Bionaire 22499 Steam Mop
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Customer Avatar
from Houston, TX
What is your age? 25-29
What is your gender? Female
How often do you shop at macys.com? Frequently

Bionaire steam mop

June 17, 2010
" I have tile floors and its not as easy as i taught it would be. It took me 2 days to finish my kitchen & breakfast area because i had to Stop and fill up;stop and change pads; stop and unplug to move. Then i only have 2 pads so i had to take them off when dirty and wet and put them to wash. It does steam up fast, it does clean good, it does dry realy fast, its easy to carry - very light weight. It is NOT for an everyday or weekly use, to much of a pain. BUT will keep because its a good thing to have around for when i do deep one month cleanings. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Bionaire 22499 Steam Mop
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Customer Avatar
from Columbus, OH
How often do you shop at macys.com? Frequently
Are you a Macy's Credit Card holder? Yes
What is your age? 40-49
What is your gender? Female

disposable steam mop

June 8, 2010
" I purchased this steam mop on sale thinking it was a great buy. Well, you get what you pay for! Handle broke in half after 4 uses! Also, only cleans about 8x8ft area before needing to refill. will not buy again. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Bionaire 22499 Steam Mop
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Customer Avatar
from Chicago
How often do you shop at macys.com? Frequently
Are you a Macy's Credit Card holder? Yes
What is your age? 30-39
What is your gender? Female

November 18, 2009
" This is what I was looking for so long. It really works. The floor looks and is clean - especially with little kids. Easy to use. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Bionaire 22499 Steam Mop
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Customer Avatar
from Detroit, MI
How often do you shop at macys.com? Occasionally
Are you a Macy's Credit Card holder? Yes
What is your age? 50-60
What is your gender? Female

Awesome for the price!

March 22, 2010
" We purchased the the steam mop on sale. We had toyed with the idea for a while and the sale price convinced us to try one. We have used it on tile, textured linoleum, and carpet. Quick and easy - cleaned without residue left behind or a "glossy" feel to tile. Love the fact that it can b used on carpet. Used on a tried coffee splill and really got it clean. I agree with earlier solution about handle breaking...need to wait until pad is throughly "steamed" all over before attempting to move over floor. Also, would love to be able to purchased additional pads besides the two included with the steam mop. "
Review 9 for Bionaire 22499 Steam Mop
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Customer Avatar
from Sayreville, NJ
How often do you shop at macys.com? Occasionally
Are you a Macy's Credit Card holder? Yes
What is your age? Over 60
What is your gender? Female

No Steam No Clean

January 4, 2010
" The first 3 times I used this steam mop I was very satisfied. The fourth time it did not work. The unit heated but no steam. Very disppointing. I have the receipt but threw the box out so now I am stuck with the broken unit. This must be a defect with this unit because I read a similiar review. I wonder how many other people have had this same problem. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Bionaire 22499 Steam Mop
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Customer Avatar
from new york, ny
What is your age? 25-29
What is your gender? Female
How often do you shop at macys.com? Frequently

Would not recommend!

July 20, 2010
" I got this as a wedding gift, it was on our registry and I was SUPER excited about getting it, however the first time I used it it took forever to warm up, but although I had to go over the same spots multiple times, it did eventually do it's job. The second time I used it, I turned it on and water started gushing from the spout on the bottom where the steam is supposed to come out. The cloth was completely drenched and the machine was on the fritz. Thankfully macy's is letting me take it back and I'll be getting a different model, it could have just been a bad machine but it's left a bad taste in my mouth for it and I don't have the time or energy to take another one back if it failed again. "
Review 11 for Bionaire 22499 Steam Mop
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Customer Avatar
from Los Gatos, CA
How often do you shop at macys.com? Frequently
Are you a Macy's Credit Card holder? Yes
What is your age? 50-60
What is your gender? Female

Disappointed

March 14, 2010
" I bought two of these steamers, one for my mother-in-law.I liked this steamer a lot. I have that old Linoleum that has the uneven surface so dirt collectes in the groves and I have to scrub it on my hands and knees to get the floor really cleam. I can't wait to replace it but that's another story. This steam mop worked very well.If I let it sit for several seconds on some really bad spots it got them clean. I like it and was pleased with the purchase until the handle broke off. It seems like this is a common problem in reading the other reviews.That's too bad.I will be returning it soon. "
Review 12 for Bionaire 22499 Steam Mop
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Customer Avatar
from Detroit, MI
How often do you shop at macys.com? Occasionally
Are you a Macy's Credit Card holder? Yes
What is your age? 30-39
What is your gender? Female

Bad Product

January 30, 2010
" I was excited to use this steam mop. I had only used it for a few minutes and have already boxed it up to go back. The pads slip off going across the wood floors and the handle nearly broke off on the first swipe. I was really disappointed in this product! "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Bionaire 22499 Steam Mop
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Customer Avatar
from Northridge, CA
How often do you shop at macys.com? Frequently
Are you a Macy's Credit Card holder? Yes
What is your age? 30-39
What is your gender? Female

Broken Handle

February 19, 2010
" Very flimsy and hardly produces steam. Handle completely broke off during first week of use. Exchanged it for another of the same steamer, again handle completely broke on second use and it no longer worked at all. Definite waste of money. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Bionaire 22499 Steam Mop
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Customer Avatar

Better than expected

March 5, 2010
" I was somewhat hesitant to purchase this item because I was looking for a steamer that had the removable water tank and a button for steam. But.... when this item was on sale, I decided to give it a try. Glad I did! It heats/steams up quickly, has a button to turn on or sleep mode, and once the pad is well steamed, it is easily pushed around. I saw the other review where they kept breaking the handle. Not necessary-all you have to do is be sure the pad is well steamed, maybe one minute. Good item for the price! I do wish it came with more pads though! Best bang for the buck! "
Review 15 for Bionaire 22499 Steam Mop
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Customer Avatar
from NEW HAVEN COUNTY, CT
How often do you shop at macys.com? Frequently
Are you a Macy's Credit Card holder? Yes
What is your age? 30-39
What is your gender? Female

BIONAIRE STEAM MOP - WORTH IT

December 16, 2009
" I HAVE BEEN SHOPPING AROUND FOR A STEAM MOP AND MY HUSBAND ACTUALLY PURCHASED THIS FOR ME. IT HEATS QUICKLY, NOTICE AN IMMED DIFFERENCE IN MY FLOORS, NO STREAKING, DRYS FAST, IF YOUR FLRS LOOK TOO WET YOU NEED TO CHANGE THE CLEANING PAD. MY ONLY COMPLAINT IS THAT THE CORD IS NOT LONG ENOUGH, SO YOU HAVE TO UNPLUG IT TO GO ROOM TO ROOM. OTHERWISE THE STEAM LASTS A GOOD 15 MIN BEFORE HAVING TO REFILL IT WITH WATER. WHEN TURNED ON THERE IS CONTINUOUS STEAM, YOU DONT HAVE TO SQUEEZE A TRIAGE LIKE YOU HAVE TO WITH THE SHARK STEAM MOP (THATS WHY MY FRIENDS DONT LIKE THEIR SHARKS) "
Review 16 for Bionaire 22499 Steam Mop
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Customer Avatar
from MO
What is your age? 30-39
What is your gender? Female
How often do you shop at macys.com? Frequently

Great for Pergo floors

August 2, 2010
" I bought this mop because of the price, I was a little hesitant because of the bad reviews, but it work really well on my pergo floors. I would definately recommend it "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Bionaire 22499 Steam Mop
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Customer Avatar
from Alton, IL
What is your age? 25-29
What is your gender? Female
How often do you shop at macys.com? Frequently

Buy A Shark

August 22, 2010
" I bought this product in May. Handle was cracked straight out of the box, but it did not affect its performance so I decided not to take it back... I taped it up with duct tape after the handle completely cracked....It worked great for the first month, using it once a week. After that the problems began, it barely steamed and then I guess the tank cracked and leaked all of the water out and now it is worthless.... Should have bought a Shark!!! Going to buy one tomorrow to pick up where this one left off..... Do not buy! I should have read the reviews first.... "
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Bionaire 22499 Steam Mop
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Customer Avatar

Worst Quality Product

April 28, 2010
" Do Not waste your time or money with this Bionaire Steam Mop. I used it the first time and it worked; second time the motor broke down, no steam at all. Thank goodness I bought it from Macy's with their 180 day return policy. They exchanged it. I noticed the plastic handle was cracked as I took the second one out of the box. I used it anyhow and saved the box. Second use the motor made a slight purring noise and AGAIN...no steam! I returned to Macy's and they were as nice as could be about an EZ Exchange credit which I will use today on the Shark steamer. "
Review 19 for Bionaire 22499 Steam Mop
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Customer Avatar
from Los Angeles, CA
How often do you shop at macys.com? Frequently
Are you a Macy's Credit Card holder? No
What is your age? 40-49
What is your gender? Female

Mop worked one time

November 25, 2009
" I was excited to get my first steam mop. I was quickly disappointed that there was not a lot of steam when I first used it. It seemed to clean okay, but did not glide easily across the floor. The second time I attempted to use it, no steam at all. It made noise like it was doing something, but the bottom never got warm nor did steam ever come out. Followed recommendations for troubleshooting, which all were make sure it had water and it did. Ended up returning it. I took a chance on the Shark steam mop and it is awesome! "
Review 20 for Bionaire 22499 Steam Mop
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Customer Avatar
from New Jersey
How often do you shop at macys.com? Occasionally
Are you a Macy's Credit Card holder? Yes
What is your age? 50-60
What is your gender? Male

User Friendly

January 14, 2010
" Bionaire steam mop is our first purchase of its kind - unsure and excited about its overall performance !! Upon its first use, it is found to be very user friendly - user's age, expectations and so on... Very light weight, easy to interchange from wood floor to carpet, negligible power consumption and yet its silent capacity to turn the dull floors and carpet into shiny and fresh ones !! However, the only opportunity to modify the product is to increase the water tank capacity. The present one requires frequent filling. "
1 2 3 next>>